My Trips to the Doctor – Updated

That’s right. I used the plural there. I made two trips to the doctor. I was only supposed to make one, but they had other things in mind apparently.

There are certain medications I have to take every day. Some of these are fairly routine and I can just have the prescriptions refilled a few times before having to go to the doctor. Others are ones that I have to see the doctor for every month. It’s not that they don’t want to give me refills on them. They’re not allowed (by law) to give me refills on them. This is kind of a pain in the ass for me, because I don’t want to see a doctor once a month, but I do because I have to.

Each time I leave the doctor’s office, they schedule me for my next appointment. When I left my January appointment, they set my February appointment for the 19th at 9. The only difference was that I’d be seeing a new doctor this time as the one I had been seeing was moving to an office in Ohio, and I didn’t feel like driving to Ohio just to keep seeing the same doctor. I’ve changed doctors so many times that I barely even notice it anymore. Well, unfortunately, I noticed it this time.

I get up on Tuesday, which was the 19th if you weren’t paying attention, and leave for my 9:00 appointment at 8:30. If there’s no traffic I can make it to my doctor’s office in 10-15 minutes. That morning I walked into the office at 9:02. The lady at the desk was busy talking to another patient, so I signed in and sat down. About 10 minutes later, when she was finally done with the guy, she calls my name and I answer her. She says that she’s not sure if the doctor will see me because I was late. I said it was only a couple of minutes. She rolled her eyes and got on the phone, I’m guessing to call the doctor. She was on the phone for about 5 minutes before she informed me that I was going to have to reschedule. Perplexed, I asked why I had to reschedule because I was 2 minutes late. That’s when she smacked me over the head with their new doctor’s stupidity.

I wasn’t 2 minutes late, she said. I was 32 minutes late. I showed her the appointment card they gave me last month saying that my appointment was at 9. I reminded them that they called and talked to my wife the day before to confirm my appointment and they told her 9, as well. She looked me right in the eye and said, “Your appointment is at 9:00, but the doctor wanted you here at 8:30 to do your drug screening (Yes. I have to pee in a cup every month, too….which is always fun).”

There were so many things that I wanted to say to this woman after that. Things like, “If it takes me 30 minutes to pee in a cup, then I have other problems besides my back pain.” Or, “You pull this idiocy and I’m the one who gets eyes rolled at me?” But mostly what I wanted to say was, “If you, and/or your doctor, wanted me here at 8:30, then you should’ve told me to be here at 8 fucking 30. If you would’ve told me to be here at 8 fucking 30, I would’ve been here at 8 fucking 30. How am I supposed to know you want me here 30 minutes before my appointment time if nobody tells me that? Also, how fucking stupid are you that you’ll make my appointment for 9:00 and tell me to be here early? Are you that brain dead that you don’t realize it’s easier to just make my appointment time the time you actually want me here?”

Instead, I just rolled my eyes at her and said, “whatever”. She rescheduled me for this morning at 9:15. This is the actual appointment card they gave me. Appointment Card

So, now they’re continuing the stupidity. Seriously? What the fuck?

Once again, I said, “whatever” and got the hell out of there. I spent almost the whole ride home fuming, but I decided I should calm down before I got home, so I played this:

It worked. I was too busy laughing to be mad anymore.

Cut to today. I get there at 8:45. I left at 11:00. That in itself sucked, but what was worse was I was supposed to be to work at 10:30. My wife’s phone is not working right now, so she had mine, which meant I couldn’t call and tell work until I got home. Not only was I going to be calling them after I was already supposed to be there, I was also going to be telling them I wasn’t coming in. I had spent so much time in that doctor’s office that my back was killing me. Normally, I can work even when my back is hurting. This time, however, my back was hurting badly when they took my blood pressure, which meant it was very high. It was actually the highest I had ever seen it. The doctor said that if I was 20 years older, I’d probably have a stroke if my BP was that high. Needless to say, he told me he didn’t want me to go in. He wanted me to stay at home and relax.

So, that’s what I did. While I’m glad I didn’t have to go to work today (Hell, any day that I don’t have to work can’t be too bad), I hope I don’t get in trouble for it. The doctor wrote me a note, so I don’t think they’ll have a problem with me missing the time, but they might have a problem with me not calling them until it was too late. Overall, the whole experience has been 33 grams of suck and I’m hoping next month’s appointment goes a lot smoother because I don’t want to have to change doctors again unless I have to.

UPDATE:

So, my wife and I went to the store yesterday (which was Saturday since I’m not sure if the post will tell you what day I updated this), and while we were there, we dropped off my prescriptions. We didn’t drop them off on Thursday because they were post-dated because of the ‘only allowed to fill for this pill once every 30 days’ rule. The plan was to drop it off then and I would pick it up Monday morning, when I had run out. We gave the prescription to them and went about our other shopping. About 10 minutes later,  I hear my name over the store’s intercom asking me to return to the pharmacy.

When we got back there, they informed us they couldn’t fill that prescription. The reason? The idiot doctor forgot to write the quantity of pills they were supposed to dispense to me. Great. Now I have to wake up early on Monday, run down to the doctor’s office so they can give me a good script, run to the store, and hope they can get it filled before I have to be at work. Oy vey. This is 33 more grams of suck.

23 comments on “My Trips to the Doctor – Updated

  1. 1jaded1 says:

    Even though Stephen had a Guatemalan child hidden up there, he has nothing on your hemorrhoid. That sucks.

  2. I can’t like this….I hope you and your back are feeling better. I abhor doctors for many reasons. It seems like appointment times don’t matter and you are forced to wait regardless of how early or late you arrive. Fucking medical “practice”.

  3. stephrogers says:

    What’s worse than a total idiot? A holier-than-thou total idiot. What a sucky few days!

    • That receptionist woman who was rude, I think, came along with the doctor, because I had never seen her before. When I got there yesterday morning, one of the women who has been working there since I started going there gave me an “I’m sorry” look, but she didn’t actually say it .

  4. Kylie says:

    “Relax.” Right. Just wait until you get double billed by your insurance and then they want you to enroll in a stress management coaching program!! LOL

  5. Steve says:

    the highest blood pressure you’ve had on the same day stupid F*ing doctor makes stupid rules. coincidence? I don’t think so.

    • I also think it had something to do with me being in a lot of pain. I don’t know why, but doctors (especially pain doctors) always have the most uncomfortable chairs. You’d think it’d be the other way around. Unfortunately, that’s not the case.

  6. Elyse says:

    Mention the error and the time problem to your doctor. If the doctor doesn’t get it, then switch — if you can.

    This sucks Revis. Sucks.

    • I’m trying to avoid switching, at least for a little while. The doctor I went to before this one got in trouble and it kind of tainted everyone who went to see him. I’m wanting to stick with this office for a little longer. That way, I wash off the stink from that other doctor.

      • Elyse says:

        That’s terrible Regis. But I do understand. Pain management is a difficult area of medicine and of being a patient. Sucks to have these chronic issues.

  7. twindaddy says:

    Dude, I can’t believe how many shitty doctors you end up seeing. There has to be one good one out there somewhere who can help you. What a bunch of suck.

  8. The Hook says:

    Medical science, man.
    I wish we were kryptonian…

  9. MissFourEyes says:

    That doctor is an idiot. And so is the lady at the desk.

  10. The Cutter says:

    Ugh, that sucks. Find a new doctor if at all possible. Anyone who runs the office like that isn’t necessarily who you want making important decisions regarding your health.

  11. How stupid of them and inefficient! I hope they realise that and change back to however it was done before (which I’m guessing must have worked better for their patients and therefore them too).

Revis "......."

