Was That a Question?

When I put up a post last week asking for you to email me any questions you might have about me, I did it for a few reasons. One: If enough questions came in, I could stretch it out for a few posts and not have to think up any new blog topics (Hey, why waste time thinking if you don’t have to?). Two: I thought it would be a fun way for you out there to get to know me better. Three: Instead of me just spewing random facts about me, I thought it would be better for me to just tell you what you wanted to know. So, I put up one of my email addresses and hit publish.

After hitting publish I began to prepare. As most of the people who I tend to have around me are smartasses, I was preparing for people to start sending me the questions I told them not to: making them too personal or asking about my brother. I was also preparing smartass responses to these smartass questions. Then something happened that I was not prepared for.

I was not prepared for the complete lack of response. In the week since the post was put up, I’ve received 2 emails. Both of them were spam, asking me to help bankers in the Middle East after their Prince Abubu died (No, that wasn’t the actual name given in the email. Yes, that was an Aladdin reference because I am that damn cool). As I had not prepared for this, I was unsure how I should react. So, I decided to take the Spock approach and look at it logically. There must be plenty of reasons why nobody would email me a question.

Maybe I typed in the wrong email address in the post? Nope. It’s the right one.

Maybe they didn’t believe that was your actual email address? While it is not my main email address, it is one that I have. The only reason I have it is because a week after the events of the Amy Foster night, I decided to torture Newb a little bit more by sending him a friend request from ‘Amy’ on Facebook, but in order to create a Facebook page for ‘Amy’, she needed an email address (I thought I had put this in the original post, but as it’s not in there, I’m guessing that I didn’t).

Maybe they weren’t sure about your “too personal” rule? I suppose that’s possible. “Nothing too personal” is a little vague. Basically, I would only find two things off-limits (of course as soon as I say this, someone will ask me something else that I do):I won’t tell you my real name. If I wanted everyone to know it, I wouldn’t be using this awesome pseudonym. And I will not answer any questions about my wife and I’s private life. One, it’s none of your business, and two, if I started to, my brother would be traumatized for life.

Maybe they felt like they didn’t need to? I suppose this is possible, as well. Except for my story parts, my most recent posts (the one about my wife, the one about my daughter, and the one about the changes on my blog) have all been more revealing. Maybe one of those posts answered any question someone had for me.

Or, finally, maybe the simplest explanation is the truest. Maybe they just don’t find me interesting enough to ask questions about? I can see that. I’m just some random guy on the internet that just happens to post on a blog you read. It’s not we’re best friends or anything.

Something like this happening to a person with self-esteem issues would probably have them going nuts. They’d be thinking to themselves, “Oh, no. They don’t like me. What am I going to do?” If you’re one of those people, do what I do: shrug your shoulders and move on.

I hope everyone I meet likes me, just as I hope everyone likes everything I write, but I know that those things are impossible. You might as well try to fly using only flatulence for propulsion. It’s just not going to happen, so there’s no point in worrying about it.

I won’t lie to you, though. There is one thing about this whole ordeal that does bother me. With no questions for me to answer, now I need to think up topics for new posts. Dammit.

This entry was posted in Life.

23 comments on “Was That a Question?

  1. Elyse says:

    I didn’t mail you but I DID tag you. Eleven questions. Because I am that good. But not good enough to link to my latest post on my iPhone.

  2. Wanna know something funny? I thought of sending you a question, but I thought, Im a fairly new blogger that no one really knows, not as known as half the people on Stuphblog, and I thought, who cares what my question is anyway.. so I didn’t send one. (insert my shy smiling face)
    Maybe I should have.. ~ Jen

  3. denmother says:

    Don’t sweat it, Twindaddy. We had a like-in and only about 15% of our followers showed up. All in good fun though. We put it down to people being busy and having the attention span of walnuts.

    So do you actually have twins or DO twins? Are you a daddy or THAT kind of daddy?
    Denmother

  4. stephrogers says:

    I also thought about sending a list of random questions but I wasn’t sure what angle you were going for, did you want funny ones? Comic yet strangely revealing? Or serious I-just-met-you-at-a-BBQ type stuff? So I decided to leave it to someone else to go first, wait for the post and see where it went before submitting mine.
    PS flying via flatulence sounds really awesome

  5. Steve says:

    I think a person with self-esteem issues probably wouldn’t have asked the question in the 1st place.

  6. 1jaded1 says:

    I sent in mine. πŸ™‚

  7. 1jaded1 says:

    Ps. I asked it in jest (kinda). I’m hoping to spark a friendly rivalry with you in the fall.

  8. TammyeHoney says:

    I thought I sent you a list…it must be here on my desk somewhere cause I know that I sat and wrote it out first. Will find and resend it to you.

  9. I don’t know how to do the BLC box thing. Plus, that seems like it’d be a lot of work. If one of us gets to be lazy, I’d rather it be me.

  10. Ned's Blog says:

    It’s the same problem even once you’re IN the supermarket. My wife and I shop at WinnCo every Sunday, and there are always people who stop their cart on the right side, then stand trying to decide on what kind of boxed Mac&Cheese they want on the LEFT side. End result: Total isle blockage. I usually just pick through their cart for the stuff I need and move on.

Revis "......."

