To My Baby Girl – Updated

Dear Baby E,

You are now 7 months old. As I write this, you are a little cranky because you’re teething. I’m cheering you up by clapping my hands together, which is very amusing to you, for some reason. I don’t care what I have to do to get you to smile, no matter how small or goofy it may be. Seeing you smile is one of the greatest things in the whole world and I will do whatever I have to keep a smile on your face.

Obviously, you’re too young to read this now, but hopefully one day when you’re older this will find its way to you. On that day, no matter when it is, you will still be my pretty princess. The day you were born will always be tied for the best day of my life, the other being the day I married your mother.

(I just took a break from writing this to change your diaper. As I was doing this I was making noises to keep you occupied, one of which was saying, “Da Da”. After a few times of me saying it, you did it too. It melted my heart. I know you were just copying the sounds I was making, but it is still the first time you said, “Da Da”. I almost cried.)

I want you know that I love you very much, Baby E. You and your mother are the most important people in the world to me. As I have said before, your mother is the most beautiful woman in the world. You will always be the most beautiful little girl in the world, because no matter how old you get, you will always be my little girl. I also want you to remember that, wherever you go and whatever you do, your daddy was your first Valentine and he will never lose his smile as long as you are around.

Love,

Your Daddy

P.S. – I’m going to go ahead and apologize now, because when this actually comes up you’ll probably not be talking to me. I told your cousins (Baby A and Baby B aka Da Twinz) that their job, as you get older, is to keep any and all boys away from you. I’m going to tell Baby C, Baby D, and Baby F this too when they’re old enough to understand. I’m sorry for this, baby girl, but I’m the father of a daughter and this is just what we do. Look on the bright side, though. If anyone ever gets you mad, you’ll already have a posse and you can sic your ‘Boyz’ on them.

13 comments on “To My Baby Girl – Updated

  1. sarahneeve says:

    Oh my, talk about pulling at the heart-strings. I also hopes she gets to read this someday. 🙂

  2. Steve says:

    I remember some years ago when my daughter was old enough to be a nightmare (I think between 11 to 14) I wrote her a poem (I am lousy at poems) and I wrote it on paper and left it for her when I went to work. This post reminded me of that. (although your post is all good rather than the contents of mine, I meant the concept of writing to her)

  3. Awww now aren’t you just the sweetest! Have a wonderful Valentines Day 🙂

  4. She will certainly treasure these words one day. My husband and daughter have a wonderful relationship, something tells me you will too!

  5. Kozo says:

    This is so sweet. You are your daughters first Valentine. I feel bad for you when she gets to be about 15 because she’s already got you wrapped around her little finger. 🙂
    Will the BLC also write a post to your daughter?

    • The Princess has everyone wrapped around her finger, even Uncle Twindaddy.

      BLC is not allowed anywhere near my daughter…..well, at least not until she turns into a rebellious teenager anyways.

  6. The Hook says:

    Never apologize to your kids. It gives them leverage.
    Great post.

  7. […] as well. Except for my story parts, my most recent posts (the one about my wife, the one about my daughter, and the one about the changes on my blog) have all been more revealing. Maybe one of those posts […]

Revis "......."

