When Laughter Isn’t Funny

Tonight, Twindaddy came over to my house to put something onto my computer. While waiting for it to download, we were watching TV while Baby E played with her toys on the floor. Mrs. Revis had the remote and she turned on America’s Funniest Home Videos. Most of the videos on this show are stupid, but there are a few funny ones on there.

Well, after the first funny one, Twindaddy started laughing (which happens when one hears or sees something humorous). Baby E was not amused by this however, and she started getting fussy. Not thinking anything of it, I made some goofy noises and got her to smile.

Another funny one came on and, once again, Twindaddy laughed. This time, instead of getting fussy, she started crying. Not loudly, but she was crying. Twindaddy apologized and made some goofy noises himself to get her to calm down.

About 5 more minutes go by and Twindaddy apparently forgot what happens when he laughs, because he did it again. This time, she began screaming her head off. I picked her up and bounced her. It took me a minute or two to get her to calm down. He continued to apologize for laughing until he left a little while later.

Let this be a lesson to all of you: Don’t put on anything even remotely funny when Twindaddy is around because his laughter makes children cry.

24 comments on “When Laughter Isn’t Funny

  1. 1jaded1 says:

    Wow. What can you compare the laughter to so we all can get the experience? BTW a friend’s beagle started baying at my singing voice so I have no room to laugh. We were all crying from laughing so hard at the beagle though….um and my singing too.

  2. twindaddy says:

    Or perhaps there just isn’t any laughter when I’m not around. Eh?

  3. Animockery says:

    Haha, this reminds me of my sister-in-law who when she laughed would scare my oldest as a baby so bad he would bawl for a few minutes. She has a bit of a wild laugh so it used to startle him, you know like when someone pops a balloon behind your back. Eventually they came to an understanding so rest at ease Twindaddy next thing you know baby E will be best buds with you. Then again I am sure you already knew this.

  4. Ha ha!! I want to hear this laugh… ~ Jen

  5. MissFourEyes says:

    I need to hear this terrifying laughter now

  6. I think there should be an audio file posted so we can all hear this loud laughter!!

  7. Elyse says:

    Maybe it’s the way the sound reverberates around inside of the mask. I’m pretty sure it would make me cry too.

  8. The Hook says:

    I really don’t what to say about this….

Revis "......."

