Return of Dead Set?

deadsetlogo

Some of you may have noticed that I have not posted a new chapter of Dead Set in a while. There’s a couple of reasons for this. One, I’ve been writing other things. And two, I’m starting to wonder if I should be rewriting it in the first place. I’m probably my own worst critic. I can write something one day, and love it, then read it the next day and find 20 things wrong with it. That’s what happened with Dead Set.

I have 30 chapters written. When I went to post the first one on here, I reread it, which was a mistake, because then I thought I needed to change it. Maybe it did need to be changed, but that’s something that I’m now going to let you decide. Over on my blog, I posted the original version of Dead Set.

Here is the newer, rewritten version.

Let me know what you think of each. If you like the original story just as much, or better, than the rewrite, I’ll just regularly post the original chapters. If you like the newer version better, I’ll continue to rewrite it, but I won’t be posting the chapters as quickly as I’ll have to write them.

4 comments on “Return of Dead Set?

  1. 1jaded1 says:

    They are equally good to me. Either has the potential to go in the same direction. Post whichever you like and move on before you change your mind again…please! Hooked again.

  2. twindaddy says:

    I read the original before you started posting them and I like it. When I started reading what you posted I didn’t know what the hell happened. It was still good, but I wasn’t sure why you changed it. I say just go with what you’ve already done. You’ll always look back and think you need to change something. I know I do with my stuph.

  3. fortyoneteen says:

    I couldn’t vote! Yes, I read both, and yes I kinda liked the rewrite better – but that doesn’t mean that all your chapters require the same treatment. Chapter ones are notoriously difficult. Then a flow develops, you get to know your characters, and the story gets it’s grove on. So of course your Chapter One sounded like hell (to you), I bet things were a lot different when you first started writing it. Perhaps you could do a quickie edit, but my bet is the following chapters are more to your liking. Get em on the blog buddy!

  4. Totally unrelated – the other day I thought about writing a post on the movie Return of the Living Dead, which I was going to call “Send. More. Paramedics.” knowing that probably no one would get it. I dropped it. Next day AV Club.com runs an article about the cult awesomeness of Return of the Living Dead. Now the title of your post. The cosmos wants me to think about this movie for some reason…

Revis "......."

