Broken Dreams

Wearing the burden of promise unfulfilled
Labeled an outlaw for the visions I have killed
Every expectation has withered into dust
They lie among the wreckage, all of them are crushed
I cannot compete with what I could have been
Here I go, leaning on broken dreams again

Tormented by potential that lies within us each
Scratching at the surface, it remains out of reach
The light inside my soul is what I hope to find
It has dimmed to blackness, I am running blind
I cannot be what I should have been
Here I go, leaning on broken dreams again

16 comments on “Broken Dreams

  1. That was beautiful and sad at the same time.

  2. 1jaded1 says:

    This is so beautiful and sad.

  3. timkeen40 says:

    I cannot compete with what I could have been…My God, I think that says it all.

    Tim

  4. lamehousewife says:

    Powerful! Thank you for sharing this…

  5. TammyeHoney says:

    Thank You for sharing your deep thoughts

  6. I cried so hard, I almost vomited.

  7. 1jaded1 says:

    without sounding too intrusive, what inspired this? The sadness overtook the new pics.

    • Sorry it took so long to respond. I kind of lost track of this post among all of the others. Put simply, this is how I think my dad views me and my life. I actually wrote this at least five years ago (although I’m not sure exactly how long ago it really was).

  8. Very powerful feelings there Twin.

Revis "......."

