My Writing Problem

I kind of have an unusual problem when it comes to writing.  Most people, when they’re having trouble writing, can’t come up with anything to write. Writer’s block sucks…..or so I’ve been told. I don’t know, as I’ve never suffered from writer’s block. I always have something to write, which is kind of my problem. I have too much to write. Plus, I have too much time to think of stuph to write. The only problem is that I don’t have enough time to write.

I work eight hours a day. At least half of that eight hours is time I spend by myself. That gives my mind four or more hours each day to wander. Now, if I could keep my mind on one track, it wouldn’t be a big deal. Unfortunately, my mind is like a TV and the person with the remote is channel surfing. I’ll be thinking of something I’m writing, then, out of nowhere, a new story idea pops into my head. That’s when I’ll start thinking about the new story. I’ll work on the new story for a little while, then I’ll get another new story idea. I’ll work on that one for a while and then I’ll think of something to do in one of my previous stories. It’s a very convoluted cycle.

Right now, I’ve got 5 different stories I’m working on. There’s Dead Set, which some of you may have read. I started on a Star Wars story based on a character of mine that Twindaddy stole for The Last Hunt. Ok, maybe he didn’t steal the character, but he stole the name from me, so I’m going to steal the personality he came up with for the name. I also have a story set in a D&D/Lord of the Rings-type of world, plus there are a couple more I have that are set in our modern world. That also doesn’t include any ideas I come up with for blog posts.

What I really need is a system to manage all of this stuph. Any suggestions anyone?

21 comments on “My Writing Problem

  1. I have the same problem with creativity and we should feel lucky that our minds don’t dilute us from our own ideas. I use the same process to create stories like you do and to be honest it is the most effective method i have ever used as far as building content goes. People get stuck and remain fixated on one story instead of expanding their mind like they would their taste buds and i say that because if you branch your ideas out instead of trying hammer out one thing all the time then you wouldn’t fall victim to something like writers block. Archive your ideas and get back to it is what i suggest so that way the content is done right because I’ll be the first to admit that i don’t always like writing about the same thing all the time and that’s what usually contributes to this problem.

    Follow 4 follow if you will: http://wp.me/2aAA8 -,o

  2. El Guapo says:

    How a bout a looseleaf with dividers. A section for each story as they come and go, then a section for other posts. You can flip from one to the other as the story thoughts come in….

  3. Mooselicker says:

    I’m usually working (or at least trying to) work on a 3 different things all at once. Sometimes it’s more because are things we ever write perfect? Not sure if it helps but jumping from one to the next, going after whichever one feels right to write about at the time, has worked well for me and it feeds the creative juices.

  4. I tend to scribble in a notebook. I like El Guapo’s idea of a looseleaf with sections. It would be easy to move stories, poems, and ideas around.

  5. I have two files – one physical, one computer – of tidbits to review later and possible synthesize.

  6. 1jaded1 says:

    If you do pen to paper, the divided notebook sounds like a great suggestion. If you do electronic possibly a folder for each story? Organization = chaos to me so I don’t know for sure though. Good luck!

  7. You need a personal assistant.

  8. You don’t want my advice – my spice cabinet is arranged by a visual memory of what I put where….

  9. sha'tashari says:

    Years passing pocket recorders were used. It made recording ideas and notes on the fly simple and it can be played back when there is time and a place to write. Some cell phones come with recorders. If your’s does not, the small recorders are still sold at office supply stores.

  10. GlowWorm says:

    Hah! I’ve written whole blog posts in my head and then later I can’t figure out why they aren’t posted on my blog. My kingdom for some typing time.

Revis "......."

