I’m a Quitter

I know what you’re thinking. You’re thinking that being a quitter is a bad thing. Normally, I’d agree with you. This time, however, I will not, and neither will Twindaddy, because he’s wanted me to be a quitter for years.

I finally quit smoking. Not only has Twindaddy been hounding me for years to quit, I kind of promised my wife that I would quit before Baby E was born. That didn’t work out too well. I had cut down gradually, but was never able to quit completely until almost a month ago. My wife, Baby E, and I all got sick. Fortunately, Baby E did not get it as badly as her parents. She just had cold-like symptoms. My wife and I both had bronchitis, but hers was worse than mine. At first, I continued to smoke through the sickness. After a few days of being sick, however, the cigarettes started to taste weird to me. They tasted so weird to me that I didn’t want to smoke.

It was at this point that I decided that I was done smoking for good. I had already told my wife I was quitting anyways, so I might as well quit while they tasted bad to me. I haven’t had a cigarette since then. There have been a few times where I felt like I wanted one, but not nearly as many as I thought there would be. I figured I’d start fiending as soon as I started feeling better, but I didn’t. After all, I’ve been a smoker for almost half of my life. I’m 34 now and I started smoking regularly when I was 18. As time goes on, I’m sure there will be times that I’ll get the urge to light one up again, but if it happens, I’ll just look at a picture of Baby E and remember that there are more important things than smoking.

14 comments on “I’m a Quitter

  1. 1jaded1 says:

    Your lungs and child thank you. Nothing wrong with being a quitter in this case.

    • twindaddy says:

      I have two things to say to this. 1) Congratulations and 2) It’s about fucking time!

      Seriously, though. Way to go!

  2. Salman Alvi says:

    Congrats! That’s great news!

  3. Good for you! You could always write to keep your fingers busy when an urge hits.

  4. Le Clown says:

    Stuph Blog,
    I have a very well documented smoking fetish, but fortunately, you do not fit any of the criteria. Good luck to you.
    Le Clown

  5. Good for you! I’m just trying to quit sugar colas right now, and that’s hard enough for me. Smoking has to be much harder. Good luck, and remember to stay checked in with people for support – and looking for motivation like your baby is a great idea!

  6. Well done, I know how hard it is to stop smoking 🙂

  7. becca3416 says:

    Fuck. Now I want a cigarette. Oh wait, I am not quitting yet. Be back….

  8. TammyeHoney says:

    So proud of you…Hubby and I are right behind you in the quitting…we have both purchased the electronic air cigarette to get us through…made sure it was the one with out nicotine too…. Congratulations…you just added mega years to your life.

  9. Elyse says:

    Good for you. Smoking killed my sister at 47 and I have had no patience whatsoever with it for decades.

    Everybody will be better off and you will succeed!

  10. Nicole Marie says:

    Awesome – congrats! I quite about three months ago…no child as motivation, but my fiance quit, too. So far, so good. Good luck!!

Revis "......."

