A Really Bad Day

Yesterday sucked for me for a number of reasons. First, I work in a warehouse. While a few rooms in the warehouse are air-conditioned, most of it, like the part I spend most of my time in, is not. It was hot as hell yesterday, so I was sweating my ass off most of the day. As the day went on, the only thing I kept thinking was that I couldn’t wait to get home so I could take a shower.

An hour-and-a-half before it was time for me to leave, I get a text from my wife saying that our power was out due to a storm. OK, fine. The storm didn’t last all that long so I figured the power would be back on before I got home. On the way home, as I passed the streets leading to my house, I saw everyone’s lights on. I was encouraged. Then, I got to my street and half the people are sitting outside on their porches. There was still no power on my street. Great. Now I had to sit around smelling like sweat until the power came back on. So, we sat there…..and sat there, but the power didn’t come back on. At one in the morning, my wife and I tried to go to sleep. It didn’t work very well.

I don’t know about the rest of you, but I have trouble sleeping when I’m sweating. It was incredibly hot in our bedroom. What time did I finally get to sleep? I have no idea, but it was a night of tossing, turning, and waking up all night. At 7 this morning, my wife and I were awakened when the fan in our bedroom finally kicked back on. While we were both happy that we had our power back, we also had trouble going back to sleep afterwards. After two more hours of falling asleep and waking up, I finally decided to get out of bed. Oy vey……

This entry was posted in Life.

2 comments on “A Really Bad Day

  1. I know what you mean, bro. I grew up in Texas and when storms killed the power in the summer, it was quite unpleasant until we got it back so we could crank up the A/C . I now live in Maine and the summers are mild to me to say the least. It’s gonna be a “blistering” 86 degrees today and people are complaining like they are at the Gates of Hades. Good times.

  2. lamehousewife says:

    It is rather toasty of late…

Revis "......."

