Living in the Basketball State

I’ve lived in Kentucky for most of my life, so I know how obsessed most of the people in this state are with basketball. The other night, however, that obsession hit a new low (in my eyes, anyways). My supervisor called us all together for a meeting. Normally, these meetings are about changes in our processing procedures. This one was not. This meeting was to tell us that next Monday we’d be working earlier than usual. I work 2-11 every day. Monday we’re working from 12-9. The reason we’re working 12-9? We’re working 12-9 so that everybody can go home and watch the NCAA Championship basketball game.

I’m all for getting out of work before 11, but this is just ridiculous. If this is how crazy the people of Kentucky are about basketball, why has no NBA owner brought a team in? You’d think that they’d be able to make some money from these people. Plus, they can market the NBA team to the college fans by calling the team the “Kentucky WildCards”, that way you get both UK and Louisville fans. I  know some U of L fans might be upset that UK seems to go first in the name, but they can get over it, because that’s the only way to combine the names so that it makes sense. I think it would work. Now, I just need to get ahold of an NBA owner so I can get a cut of the action if they ever do this.

Revis "......."

