Now I’m Starting To Get Pissed

I’m going to go on a rant here. I know some of you might say I’m only doing it because I’m an Ohio State fan, but that’s only part of it. The other part is just pure outrage at an injustice.

Once again, Cris Carter was passed over for the NFL Hall of Fame. How this keeps happening is beyond me, especially if you look at who did make it: Curtis Martin, Willie Roaf, Dermonti Dawson, Cortez Kennedy, and Chris Doleman. I’ll give them Doleman, Roaf, and maybe Dawson, but Martin and Kennedy? Really? To me, anyways, those guys were good, not great. Cris Carter was the 2nd best wide receiver in NFL history, behind Jerry Rice. That’s not just my opinion, his stats back it up. Were Martin or Kennedy the 2nd best at their respective positions? Nope. Martin’s not even in the top 10 of all time great running backs, and if Kennedy makes the top 10 at defensive tackle, it’s just barely.

Not only was Carter the 2nd best wide receiver in history, he did it with a bunch of crappy quarterbacks throwing it to him. Except for Warren Moon, who only played two-and-a-half seasons with the Vikings, Carter spent his career with below average QBs throwing the ball to him. Jerry Rice had 2 Hall of Fame QBs throwing the ball to him for 99% of his career (Montana and Young). Carter had Daunte Culpepper and Brad Johnson. There’s a Grand Canyon sized dropoff there.

Hall of Fame voters, I have two words for you: FUCK YOU!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

2 comments on “Now I’m Starting To Get Pissed

  1. twindaddy says:

    Well, Culpepper was good when with the VIkings. He also had Jeff George and Randall Cunningham, who aren’t slouches, either. For some reason, receivers have trouble getting into the HOF. I mean, look how long it took Art Monk to get in. Also, Carter doesn’t have a Superbowl ring, which is something most HOF voters look for.

    What I have a problem with is the voters themselves. Why do a bunch of journalists get to vote? Who cares what they have to say?

    As a Bengals fan, its a shame that Kenny Anderson, Boomer Esiason, Isaac Curtis, or Ken Riley have never even been close to getting voted in. I think Anderson has been close a couple of times, but his eligibility has expired I think and he’ll have to wait for. . . whatever it is that gets the really, really old players in.

    The HOF, to me, is a joke. People who should get in don’t and people who shouldn’t get in do. It’s a popularity contest just like everything else.

  2. […] it anyways. This is a topic that I’ve talked about a couple of times in the past (here and here), but there has been some new developments since […]

Revis "......."

