Running on No Sleep

I haven’t posted in a few days, but this is really the first day that I’ve had any sleep since Wednesday night.  My wife had a doctor appointment at 7:30 Friday morning that I had to go with her for. Since I don’t get off work until 11 every night, it’s hard for me to get to sleep before 1 or 2 a.m. So, Thursday morning, I had her wake me up early to make it easier for me to fall asleep that night. The flaw in my plan was, for some reason, I couldn’t get to sleep that night. I tossed and turned until 5 a.m. Then, when my wife woke me up at 9, I didn’t want to get up. I did, but I didn’t want to.

Thursday night, I get home from work and try to go right to sleep. It didn’t work too well. I didn’t get to sleep until around 1:30-2:00. Once again, I get woken up. This time, however, I don’t fight it. My wife and I go to the doctor’s office and after that, I was wide awake (I’ll explain this in my next post). I go to work and my lack of sleep catches up to me. I was dragging around all night. When 11 o’clock came around again, I went home and immediately tried to go to sleep again.

At my job, we normally work Monday through Friday, but we also have to work every other Saturday. The problem is, when we work on Saturday, we have to be there at 7 a.m. Guess which weekend I had to work. That’s right. I go in Saturday morning and , again, my lack of sleep caught up to me. I was carrying an old CRT monitor when it slipped out of my hands. Instead of backing away, which is what I should have done, my sleep-deprived mind screamed, “Catch it!” I tried to catch it. Big mistake, Indy. Big mistake.

I threw my hands after it, and only one part of them touched any part of the monitor: the very tip of my right ring finger’s fingernail. It ripped a chunk of that fingernail off. It was not a very pleasant experience. While it doesn’t look like much, it hurts like hell. I spent the rest of the day sticking out my ring finger the way British people stick out their pinkies when they’re drinking tea.

I go home and take a nap for about 2 hours. After being awakened, I spent the rest of the day yawning, wanting to go back to bed. When I finally do go back, I fell asleep right away. Then, after being asleep for an hour, all of the sudden, I’m awakened by a huge pain in my finger. I guess I banged it, or something. I try to go back to sleep, but before I can, I get the urge to go to the bathroom. So, I got up and used the bathroom. I laid back down and was just about to fall back asleep when I hear a loud bang downstairs. @#$%!!! Let me sleep!!!

I go down to investigate. I don’t see anything in the living room, but when I turn on the kitchen light, I see our broom laying in the middle of the floor. What the hell? At this point, I no longer care why the broom is laying in the floor. The doors are locked and nobody else is in the house. I go back upstairs and couldn’t get back to sleep for an hour or two.

Oy vey…..

This entry was posted in Life and tagged .

Revis "......."

