Generalizing

For those who don’t know, I’m now working at a new place. I’m pretty much doing the same thing, but I’m not surrounded by as many stupid people. One of the people I work with, however, has pissed me off.

We’re allowed to bring in cds or listen to the radio at our work stations. I always bring in cds, that way I don’t have to listen to songs I don’t like. A few days ago, my supervisor came up and told me that one of the security guards was complaining about my music. She’s an older lady who has grandchildren and used to teach kindergarten. She told my supervisor that we (me and the other guy that works at my station) were listening to foul-mouthed (there was some cussing in it) devil-worshipping music.

First of all, if you have a problem with the music I’m listening to, that’s ok. Not everyone likes the same music. Tell us to turn it down, though. Don’t go and complain about me to my boss because you don’t like my music. That’s a bunch of crap. I don’t want to get in trouble just because I wasn’t playing the country music that she likes.

Secondly, listening to Metallica and Avenged Sevenfold doesn’t make me a devil worshipper. It makes me a fan of Metallica and Avenged Sevenfold. Putting people in categories like that irritates the hell out of me. I’m not going to say that she’s a redneck just because she listens to country. The music you listen to doesn’t define you as a person. I could start to listen to Tejano music, but that wouldn’t make me Mexican.

Revis "......."

