Rooting for the bad guy

On the back of the movie Pitch Black, it quotes a reviewer saying the character Riddick is, “the best excuse to root for the bad guy since Arnold in the original Terminator.” While I agree that Riddick is a cool character, he’s not technically the “bad guy” in Pitch Black. He is a bad guy as a person, but he’s not the main villain in the movie. He’s actually kind of the hero of the movie. The aliens eating everyone are the villains in the movie.

That got me thinking, who is the movie villain that you most want to win in the end? Which villain do you root for the most?

For me, it’s got to be Gerard Butler as Clyde Shelton in Law Abiding Citizen. He was a guy that had a horrible thing happen to him and did something about it. As you’re watching the movie, you like Jamie Foxx as the hero, Nick Rice, a guy who is trying to do his job and protect his family. However, you still find yourself hoping that Clyde is able to pull it off. By the way, this movie is freakin’ awesome and if you haven’t seen it yet, you’re missing something great.

That’s mine. What’s yours? Which movie villain did you root for?

4 comments on “Rooting for the bad guy

  1. twindaddy says:

    I agree with you on the Law Abiding Citizen thing. I wanted Gerard Butler’s character to win, too. I also wanted Darth Maul to win, but I hardly think I’m alone in that.

    Hmmm, I think it would’ve been pretty sweet if Agent Smith had won, especially considering how much the ending of that trilogy sucked ass. The Joker in The Dark Knight should have won, too. Simon Phoenix in Demolition Man should have won. That’s about all the cool bad guys I can think of right now.

  2. beefybooyawn says:

    Any bad guy for me. It would really be a nice change of pace to see the bad guy win. I mean really, in a world full of unlimited possibilities, the movies make it seem like if you’re a bad guy you’re going to lose no matter how awesome you are. If I was a bad guy in a movie, I’d just give up. Really, there’s no point.

    So for me, just give me one! I don’t care which one, just do it already. Life would be better if movies were, at least in that respect, a little more like real life. Sometimes the bad guys win. It’s just statistically correct.

  3. I don’t know if Darth Maul should have won, but they definatly shouldn’t have killed him off. He was way better than Count Dooku.

    I actually do have an idea for a movie where the bad guy wins in the end, but even if I did write it up, I highly doubt anyone would ever make it into a movie unless I won the lottery and financed it myself.

  4. beefybooyawn says:

    Do it! Low budget flicks are everywhere now and almost none of them are good, but people watch the shit out of them.

Revis "......."

