Video Game Danger

According to this article, a 20-year-old British man died of a deep vein thrombosis in May that he developed from playing video games for 12 hours a day. A thrombosis is a clot that forms in the veins and if the clot breaks off it can get lodged in another part of the vein, including in the heart, lungs, or other organs, and cause a blockage that can cause injury or death. It also said that this condition can be caused by taking long plane or car rides.

While I don’t want to speak ill of the dead, I can’t help but wonder why anyone would play video games for 12 hours a day. I like video games as much as the next guy, but 12 hours a day? Hell no. Even on my days off and I don’t have anything better to do, I don’t play them for 12 hours. I think the longest I’ve ever played video games in one day is 5 hours, maybe 6. This guy apparently AVERAGED 12 hours a day. How did it not get old?

I’m not saying that people shouldn’t play video games. They should. Video games are a lot of fun. However, if more than half of the time you’re awake in a day is spent playing video games, you’ve got problems.

This entry was posted in Media.

9 comments on “Video Game Danger

  1. beefybooyawn says:

    One day I was playing NHL 09 and was flying through games. When one would end I’d instantly start a new one. My season was going great and I was on a roll. Then I noticed I had played for 8 straight hours and it was long past time to go to bed for work the next day. I was pissed that I wasted my entire day like that. I wasn’t pissed how I wasted it, just pissed I wasted it.

    I love video games, but like you, I can only play them for so long. That eight hours was a long enough time, I really don’t think I would have played for 12 hours even if I had the time to do it. That’s just too much.

  2. beefybooyawn says:

    Now that I think about it, this guy doesn’t sound like he was very active. I’m sure his lack of doing anything at all is what helped kill him, not the video games. I’m sure if he just sat his fat ass around all day building model cars or doing something else where he didn’t have to move at all for 12 hours, this same thing would have probably happened.

  3. twindaddy says:

    Right, but you know society in general will blame anything they can on video games, or anything else really, to avoid putting the blame where it should be. Video games, movies, music, and TV shows are always at fault. Didn’t you know that?

  4. Pacing Sanity says:

    I could do a 12 hour movie marathon, but I’d still move around and have to switch discs, use the bathroom, get drinks/food, etc. Games, I think I’ve managed 7 hours. And that was because it was Rock Band, and the hubs and I really REALLY wanted the achievement. 😉

  5. True, everything is always the fault of something or somebody else. Video games, music, and movies are almost always the scapegoats, but I find it hard to believe that there is anyone out there who doesn’t know that playing video games for that long every day isn’t good for you.They can try to blame video games all they want, but the fact is, he was old enough to know better.

  6. beefybooyawn says:

    And that’s the problem. We’re a country full of people who can’t be at fault. It’s always something else or somebody else to blame. Personal Choice has gone out the window. If somebody is fat, it’s not that they don’t get off of their asses and workout or eat better, it’s McDonald’s fault for super sizing the meal for $.25 extra. It’s sad, really, but that’s how it’s going to work from now until the end of time, cause nobody is to blame, but everybody else is.

Revis "......."

