So Unoriginal….

My wife likes to watch reruns of Extreme Makeover: Home Edition on CMT, and being the awesome husband I am, I’ll watch it with her. During the commercials, we’ll be bombarded with previews for their other shows, and that’s where I start having problems. Not only are they trying to be MTV, in that they almost never show actual music videos, but they’re copying shows from them and now from other networks too. I don’t know if this is the actual order these shows came out, because until I started watching that show with my wife, I never watched CMT. This is just the order in which I noticed these shows.

It started with them showing CMT Cribs. Then came Trick My Truck. I wonder where they came up with the idea for those. Next, I saw The Singing Bee, which is another karaoke game show like Don’t Forget the Lyrics or that other one I can’t remember the name of. Now, the previews of their new shows are starting. The first one is called Sweet Home Alabama. From the commercials, it looks like a country version of The Bachelorette. The second one is called Texas Girls (or something like that), and it looks like a country version of The Jersey Shore.

I know that with the thousands of channels that are out there now, it’s hard to come up with shows which don’t resemble something else. Seriously, though, you’ve got to do better than this. It’s like they’re not even trying. I’m starting to think that their meetings go like this: One person will say, “Hey, MTV has a show that’s getting good ratings.” Then, another person will say, “Yeah. We should do something like this. But how do we make it different?” A third guy will clap his hands and say, “I got it! Instead of having normal people in the show, we’ll just throw in rednecks!” The entire room nods in agreement, except for one man. This man says, “Why don’t we come up with our own ideas for new shows?” The room goes silent, now they’re shaking their heads and muttering about how the man doesn’t know anything about working at a TV network. The boss looks at the man and, doing his best Trump impression, says,”You’re fired!” As the rest of the room laughs, the boss gets an idea. “Hey, we should do our own version of Celebrity Apprentice. We could call it ‘Country Celebrity Apprentice’.”

Revis "......."

