I’m more memorable than you are

I was on my way home after work the other night and I decided to stop and grab something out of the drive-thru. I placed my order and pulled up to the window. After I paid, the lady looked at me. “Do you still work at Walmart,” she asked. I told her I did, to which she then asked, “Do you remember me?”

I didn’t. She looked a little familiar, but I couldn’t tell you her name if my life depended on it. I lied and told her I did, hoping that I could get away from that window without any further conversation. Luckily, I did. She handed me my food and I got the hell out of there.

This kind of thing happens to me a lot. It seems like at least once every week or two, someone comes up and recognizes me from a past job, or one of the schools I went to, or somewhere else. I had one girl come up and said she remembered me from 5th grade. That was 20 years ago.

What gets me is that I don’t remember 99 percent of these people. I know that I’m getting older, and they say that memory is one of the first things to go, but I’m not that old. Therefore, there is a reason that I can’t remember these people. The reason is this: I’m more memorable than they are.

Let’s face facts, if you remember me, and I don’t remember you, then that means I’m so cool that I’m permanently imbedded in your mind, while you’re so ordinary that you just slip out of my mind.

It’s good to be the king.

9 comments on “I’m more memorable than you are

  1. Reblogged this on Stuphblog and commented:

    This happened to me again the other day and it reminded me of this post.

  2. Elyse says:

    They did a piece on this on 60 mins, (I think that was the show) — where people can’t recognize faces. It’s a real legitimate thing. I’m sure the drug companies are working on a million-dollar cure for you.

  3. djmatticus says:

    Must be nice to be the King. I’ve heard good things about it. As a jester I’ve seen some perks in the position too. Then again, sometimes it’s nice to be anonymous too. 😛

    • Nice to be anonymous? “That is why no one will remember your name.”

      Sorry. I felt the Troy quote fit really well there.

      • djmatticus says:

        I was thinking the same thing when I wrote it… but I was also thinking about any of those embarrassing moments that can slip by without comment if no one knows who you are but become mainstream news if you are, for instance, the king.

        All things considered, it’s still definitely better to be king.

  4. MissFourEyes says:

    Saying that you remember them always seems to be the best idea. I get people that I haven’t seen since I was a baby coming up to me and asking if I remember them. “Of course I do! How could I ever forget?!”

  5. 1jaded1 says:

    Prosopagnosia…fave word of the day.

Revis "......."

